Rich tackles a half-marathon! (more videos and pictures!)

Rich doth conquereth

For those who didn’t know, I recently participated in the Rock ‘n’ Roll Half-Marathon in San Diego on June 1. Interestingly enough, there’s actually no official half-marathon at the event (only a full one), but Team in Training — the organization through which I participated — had a special arrangement.

Team in Training (TNT) is part of the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, and as part of the program, participants raise funds for research and treatments as well as for travel accommodations.

So, why am I writing about this only now? Well, yesterday, I officially completed my fundraising! I was required to raise $4,100, and come race time, I still hadn’t met my goal. But with the help of a few more friends, family members, and acquaintances, I managed to close the gap. And two days before the deadline (whew!).

Now that all the fundraising’s done, I wanted to take a moment to send out a personal thanks to everyone who contributed. I know it’s trite to say “I couldn’t have done it without you,” but in this case, it’s very much the truth. Because of you, I accomplished an incredible feat that I would have never thought possible even 5 years ago (when I weighed 210 pounds, ate way to much pizza and Ben & Jerry’s, and considered it a burden just to make it halfway around a 3-mile loop).

I was thinking about that when I reached the 6-mile mark of the race. I was worried, thinking that I wasn’t doing well enough, when I reminded myself that just a year before, I felt depleted after a 10K (6.2-mile) run. Now, here I was, feeling relatively fresh after the same distance, just a year later. (Note: that all changed when I got to Mile 8 🙂 ).

My finishing time was 1 hour, 48 minutes, 24 seconds, which according to the posted times was good enough for fifth place amongst all 850 TNT participants in the half-marathon (and first place amongst NYC participants)!

Now, I consider the whole thing truly finished, and in celebration, I’ve uploaded some pictures and videos from the weekend in San Diego.

You can find the pictures here, and just below, you can see videos documenting…

my arrival in San Diego (my operative word of choice in this one seems to be “gorgeous”)…

the morning of the race (4:15 in the morning, to be precise)…

and my post-race stupor…

Thanks again to everyone, and maybe with your encouragement, I’ll be crazy enough to try a full-marathon someday.


1 comment so far

  1. Melinda on

    Rich – what a great chronicle of your adventure. Thank you for having Rachel be one of the people who share in the dedication of this amazing accomplishment. Love, Melinda, Howard and Abby


Leave a Reply

